OLVEIROA TO FINISTERRE – 41 ks 

The last day of my camino and as usual I left before daylight, and as usual I was the only pilgrim for quite some time.  I don’t know why, it’s such a long stage, and I expected to have company, but I only saw a handful of people all day. 

It’s been an incredible walk, beautiful and very challenging, and the last day to Finisterre is full of emotion and reflection on the past month, and elation that you’ve made it. 

I’m so tired sitting here writing this nearly falling asleep, so it will be hard to do this last day justice, suffice to say, it was brilliant. 

 Nothing can dim my love of the camino and this one has certainly had some very unexpected moments. 

There was the masterbating maniac on a moped, and I’m not trying to be funny because it was anything but that and in an isolated industrial area, very scary.  Reported to the police and I posted where it happened on the camino FB page. 

Then there was the taxi driver who was supposed to be driving me back to the camino, as my accommodation was a few kilometers off it, but instead of turning left, turned the meter off and turned right and took me to the top of a mountain to show me the view, because he liked me. I was lucky that I talked my way back down the mountain and that was a scary hour. 

But they are two instances that I hope are out of the ordinary, and I mention them because it’s easy to forget there are opportunists around and it’s better to know than not. 

Then there are the gorgeous folk you meet every day and the people you walk with and get to know. When you walk across a country you really get to see the essence of daily life, and meet the most beautiful people, it’s such a highlight. 

I might write more tomorrow, and photos of people I’ve met. 

There’s nothing like the camino and I’ll be back. 

So who’s coming?

 👣


The route to Finisterre, add 10 ks and its right 

41.5 according to Garmin and my feet

Old grain store just outside my pension this morning 


The first marker in the dark 


Views from the track


Beautiful sunrise


To Finisterre, the other way is Muxia


My Korean friend in the distance 


I have been bumping into a delightful Sth Korean man each day named Lee and he offered to take my photo, selfies get a bit, well, selfie. 



Some messages left at a church above in the alcove 


No wonder there’s no tread left on my boots 


Heading down to Cee


My Korean friend Lee 



A shrine for a pilgrim 


I have this thing with doors



Passing through Cee




Can’t miss this arrow 


Heading out of Cee


The outskirts of Finisterre/Fisterra

The hill with the fog is the ‘end of the world’ and the last camino marker – still a long way away


My Italian friend carrying a lot….and a cross


Then to the Finisterre beach and the Atlantic Ocean – brilliant feeling after such a long walk. There were no pilgrims when I was there other than a lady who had walked in the day before and offered to take photos. I’m really pleased as she captured exactly how I felt. Very lucky for me to have these photo memories that I otherwise wouldn’t have. 


Close up – Holding my hat on, it was blowing a gale. 


Best feeling


So now across the beach and through town to the lighthouse 


To the tourist office to get my certificate for walking from Santiago to Finisterre 


These are the certificates of official distance from Lisbon to Santiago and my Compostela 


Then only 3 kilometres to the Lighthouse and the ‘end of the world’, then 2


The last marker, no more ks, among the fog. Always a crowd at this marker. 


No more ks  for CURE MND


And no more tread on my boots 


The Korean lads enjoying the moment


The lighthouse 


Marker madness.  We all love it. 

Beautiful Finisterre





 Back in the cool Atlantic water